Eating at Siamais, Birmingham

by Dave Massey twitter.com/brumhour

Siamis Birmingham

Set in the business lunch by day and leisure by night zone of Brindleyplace, Siamais is a Thai restaurant and bar with a lot to consider, quick business lunches, long business lunches, those meeting on week days off, afternoon cocktails for those with an excuse to celebrate and heading into the evening for pre-events and then dinner with cocktails.

I’d been to Siamais for the launch several months ago. It is part casual bar-part restaurant. This particular invite was split differently to normal as the Brum Bloggers were asked to put themselves into pairs and have a three course dining experience with two cocktails.

My co-diner for the evening was Mr Ryan Parish aka Brummie Gourmand. Arrived a few minutes early and discovered a business event going on in the bar we wondered if they would know we were coming? Luckily its a big venue with a decent team of staff. These staff are busy knowledgeable and charming, and clearly have had an extensive training course so they can advise you of the menu with their eyes closed.

Starters were in order, I have to say I’m pretty predictable when it comes to Thai food so I had Chicken Tom Yum Soup (No fish or seafood please!) “A spicy soup with kaffir lime, lemongrass, mushroom, galangal, chilli, and coriander” and it was! it was lovely and spicy with a nice kick to it!

Chicken Tom Yum Soup
Chicken Tom Yum Soup

Cocktails were here and the first I tried my Apple and Kiwi Mojito – white rum, mint, fresh kiwi and apple syrup! Yummy and fresh!

Ryan had a Dark Side of the Moon – Blood orange, Glenmorangie and cherry which I snuck a taste of too. Both of these lovely cocktails were from the “Book of Siam” menu.

Apple and Kiwi Mojito
Apple and Kiwi Mojito
Dark side of the Moon
Dark side of the Moon

Our mains arrived again Chicken at a Thai venue is what I’m normally going to choose and I’m happy to have a Red, Green or Yellow curry, and on this visit I chose a Red Chicken Curry.

I expect a Thai Curry to be fragrant and have more than a hint of fire to it and this was exactly that. I ate mine really quickly! While the portion size is ideal I could just eat bowl after bowl given the chance.

Thai Red Chicken Curry
Thai Red Chicken Curry

Our second cocktail was crazy! Bang Pai Falls is the name but it doesn’t really tell you anything I guess. The menu says “Over proof rum with cherry and vanilla notes and cranberry juice. Named after the clear blue waterfall, you’ll see why! For two, or one if you’re feeling brave.”

A skull appeared!! with two straws sticking out of the top and a bit of theatre that caught the attention of everyone around us! I could smell the rum so there must have been plenty there!

Bang Pai Falls
Bang Pai Falls

After our amazing cocktail, our afters appeared, I had Chocolate Ghirlanda, which is “A coronet of dark chocolate filled with crunchy meringue and a rich chocolate ice cream with white chocolate sauce, dusted with cocoa.” Like a chocolate Eton mess! So tasty lovely to look at!

Chocolate Ghirlanda
Chocolate Ghirlanda

Ryan had a Coconut Cup which is “Coconut shell filled with exotic fruit and delicious coconut ice cream”.

Coconut Cup
Coconut Cup

We were both very full and I was very pleased to have been invited to try dinner here. I can’t wait to go back for dinner again and try even more cocktails off the menu!

Find out more about Siamais on their website and book yourself a dinner here.


This isn’t a sponsored post but we were given a three course dinner plus two cocktails very kindly by Siamais in exchange for an honest review. Which wasn’t difficult as I LOVED IT!

This review was organised via Birmingham Bloggers: brumbloggers.co.uk

