A taste of spring at Cucina Rustica

by Dave Massey twitter.com/brumhour

A taste of spring at Cucina Rustica

Last month I was invited to a food and drink matching session at Cucina Rustica in Birmingham’s Jewellery Quarter, this a lovely authentic Italian restaurant near St Paul’s Square.

Our hosts for the evening were Colombier Vins Fins a family run wine importer and merchant. It was great to see team passionate about wine and matching it to food is a lovely way of enjoying the tastes of the season.

I’d not eaten at Cucina Rustica before and I’d no idea the sheer amount of food that was about to appear on the tables.

Starters
Starters

Our triple starter consisted of, Gamberoni (King Prawns), Capesante (King Scallops) and Funghi con Formaggio di Capra (Portobello Mushroom). As I don’t eat fish or seafood I was presented with substitutions of poached pear and chicken liver. Both were very nice! Especially the Poached pear!

Frascati Superiore
Frascati Superiore

We were then treated to a 2015 Frascati Superiore from Lazio in Italy. I was trying to ensure I didn’t drink too much but the spring aromas made me finish the whole sample!

I suddenly paid attention to the fact we were being fed EVERYTHING off the list of food rather than choosing items, and felt rather glad that I’d not eaten since late morning.

Antipasto Mitso
Antipasto Mitso

A post starter and pre-main dish arrived Antipasto Mitso (Parma ham, Salame) I was mostly distracted by breadsticks!

The next wine was a French red Pinot Noir IGP, Domaine V La Grange. I’ve a weakness for Pinot Noir!

pinot noir igp domaine v la grange
Pinot Noir IGP

Our mains arrived next and we were presented with Branzino (Seabass fillet), Risotto con Funghi (Mixed Mushroom), Tagliata di filetto (Sliced beef fillet), Costolette D’agnello (Rack of Lamb) and Pollo Milanese (breaded fried chicken breast).

Mains
Mains
More Mains
More Mains

I skipped the next wine and had water before we moved on to dessert: Tortino al cioccolato (Hot chocolate fondant). Tiramisu and Torta di ricotta (Cheesecake)

Dessert
Dessert

We finished off with a rather lovely 2007 Chianti: Vinsanto del Chianti Classico.

The team from Colombier Vins Fins were really friendly and informative and it was lovely to be able to sample wines with their knowledge.

It’s worth keeping an eye out on the Cucina Rustica website in the future, I went away feeling very happy! AND FULL! cucinarustica.co.uk


I was invited to try the Wine and Food matching at Cucina Rustica by Big Cat and this is not a sponsored post. Big thanks to Colombier Vins Fins.

