Who do you think you are? LIVE

by Dave Massey twitter.com/brumhour

Who do you think you are? LIVE

This week Who Do You Think You Are? is at the NEC (In/next to/near) Birmingham until the end of Saturday 8th April. Its a large hall with many stalls talking about family history and your DNA.

I moved to Manchester in 2005 and stayed there until I 2008, during that time I was still working a bookshop and dealing with local history. After two years of dealing with local history books in Bullring I thought this would be a walk in the park.

“So where are you from Dave?” Well, Birmingham.. “and where before then??” Erm still Birmingham I think!

Apart from one of my aunties doing some family history research. I didn’t really know where I was from. I knew who I was, I was an event planner with a history of organising book events. But the “Who do you think you are?” question isn’t about that. It’s about who your DNA and what makes you who you are.

IMG_20170406_114012.jpg
Living DNA

I think of Jezza Kyle when I think of DNA testing shouting out “HE’S YOUR FATHER”, I don’t think of international researchers constructing a bloodline map of your own history using a swab from inside your cheek. Yet here we are with several businesses on site looking at exactly that.

Russ Wilding from MyHeritage has travelled to Birmingham from Utah in the United States and he has an international team with him. He’s been in the family history research industry for over a decade and is passionate about their expansion into MyHeritage DNA.

IMG_20170406_124733_1.jpg

Bjorn Suttka is from Living DNA based in Somerset and he’s keen to tell me how Living DNA looks at where in the UK your DNA comes from by region.

And then there is Ancestry DNA themselves, Kirsten Hyde from Ancestry is happy to share about the journey your DNA sample takes to so you can discover more about yourself.

sdr
sdr

I’m very close to doing a DNA test to find out more about myself. Even though my friend in Washington, DC has been looking into my own family history and my connections to Birmingham for about 7-8 years.

Also at Who Do You Think You Are? LIVE there’s chances to take in old family photographs, medals and or antiques from your own family. It’s so great to see people passionate about learning more about themselves and where they come from.

I didn’t get chance to sit in a talk but they take place over the three days and there’s everything from a talk on what to do when you get stuck with research to a talk on Birmingham from the lovely Doctor Carl Chinn!

I’ll be heading back next year a bit more prepared with my family history investigations.

FINAL WDYTYAL 2017 logo

More details here: whodoyouthinkyouarelive.com


Thanks to the team from Who Do You Think You Are? LIVE for arranging my press ticket. This isn’t a sponsored post.

