Trying Cocktails at Bar Opus at One Snowhill, Birmingham

by Dave Massey twitter.com/BrumHour

Cocktails at Bar Opus at One Snowhill

I was invited, with a group of bloggers, to Bar Opus at One Snowhill in central Birmingham to sample some of their new cocktails, the menu was sent to me ahead of my visit but I avoided looking at it. These days, with online menus, I’m the sort of person who has planned what he’s going to eat before he arrives in a venue. So for my blog I prefer to explore things at the time they are happening.

Bar Opus at One Snowhill is a lunch-into-afternoon and post-work venue based just outside of Birmingham Snow Hill Station, its a fresh venue with massive windows and a great outside space.

There were twelve cocktails on the list for our evening! TWELVE! We weren’t getting twelve whole cocktails mind you. We were seeing each cocktail demonstrated by the skilled barman, and then having a shot sized sample to taste. I’d probably have fallen over after four full cocktails anyway.

dav
Cocktail List for Bar Opus Blogger Event

The first four were: Milk Punch, Hereford Scrambler, Clover Club plus Pear & Cardamom Sidecar.

I’m not going to lie to you but the idea of a “Milk Punch” is a bit of a strange one to me but as we hurtle towards longer evenings it’s quite a winter month type cocktail. However the other three were great! The Pear and Cardamom was particularly lovely.

Next up we tried: Ginger Bellini, Beggar’s Banquet, Cowboy Hoof Martini and Missionary’s downfall!

The Ginger Bellini was fantastic but I was saving myself for the Beggar’s Banquet which contained Makers Mark, Angostura Bitters, Peaky Blinder’s Ale, Maple Syrup and Lemon. Each cocktail was being finished off by a blogger, so I had a fight on my hands to get the Beggar’s Banquet. It was well worth it!

8 cocktail samples in and plus a full glass of Beggar’s Banquet and a glass of Prosecco on arrival and my photos were a tiny bit blurry as you can see from cocktail 8.

We were given some snacks to try, before we moved on to the last four cocktails and this saved me a little.

The final four cocktails were: Port Cobbler, Old kokonut, Opus Manhattan and an English Collins.

What’s that you say? There’s only two more photos here! I know! There should be four! The Old Kokonut was great! I’d drink that as a full cocktail. Port.. Port is one of those drinks that you suddenly realise you are old enough to enjoy.

Oh yes the two missing photos? i had to rush for my train! I know! You probably felt there was more drama to it but there wasn’t.

I had a lovely evening in the company of the bloggers of Birmingham and beyond.

Follow Bar Opus at One Snowhill on twitter: twitter.com/BarOpus


This is not a sponsored post but clearly given a few lovely drinks and I’m very happy indeed!

