Pasta Di Piazza – A visit to Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham

by Julie Wallis twitter.com/Nicenic63 (All Photos by Julie Wallis)

A visit to Pasta Di Piazza

Beautiful food, generous portions, superb settings and friendly staff are all the necessary ingredients for a great meal out and Pasta Di Piazza has all of the above.

The outside is adorned with hanging baskets, planters full of tomatoes and window boxes that only enhance the natural beauty of this old red brick building located in the heart of the Jewellery quarter.

Inside you feel you have been transported to the Mediterranean. The rustic interior of bare brick wall decorated in places with vine leaves on a corner of plaster, striped wood flooring, stained glass windows, beautiful laid tables with real cotton table linens and fire places used as wine racks all add to the ambience.

Pasta Di Piazza is the perfect venue for a romantic meal and I have already told my husband that he is taking me here for our next date night, not least because I enjoyed my meal so very much.

My starter of whitebait was served on a bed of leaves, a more than generous sized portion, this was twice the size a starter needs to be, hence I only ate half of these wonderfully crispy, tasty little whole fish. Whitebait was once a classic starter, and it fell out of favour. I’m glad to see places like Pasta Di Piazza reintroducing this tasty little classic to a whole new generation of discerning diners.

I had to choose the calves liver as my main; I am the only one who likes liver at home so it never gets cooked. Perfectly cooked and served with a portion of perfect potato mash and lashings of luscious gravy I was delighted with my main course. Not least because it was so refreshing to find a quality Italian restaurant that offers more than pizza, pasta and risottos. Obviously pizza, pasta and risotto is on the menu, alongside veal, steak and fish and more.

The crab and salmon with avocado salad starter that my dining companion had was perfect and an inspired choice for a warm summers evening. All washed down with the house white wine, dining at Pasta Di Piazza was like a mini break to the continent.

With the friendliest of staff and the lovely atmosphere that comes from a family-run business Pasta Di Piazza is worlds away from the chain restaurants that litter every high street and is well worth travelling a little off the beaten track to find quality food and service with a smile.

Pasta Di Piazza is based at: 11 Brook St, Birmingham B3 1SA

Follow them on twitter here: twitter.com/PastaDiPiazzaUK


Julie was invited to Pasta Di Piazza and has written a honestly held review. She has not been paid for this article.

