Birmingham’s Cool Events: World Gin Day at Hotel Du Vin

Post by Dave Massey @brumhour

Last Saturday I went to “Cocktailxchange‘s Gin in June on World Gin Day at Pub Du Vin”. Every time I tweeted about it I wondered what grammar crime I would commit particularly as the cocktails carried on appearing!

inside Pub Du Vin
inside Pub Du Vin

I’m not really a gin drinker, and it’s only through going to Yelp Birmingham events that I’ve even really tried it. I went to Birmingham Independent Food Fair last September which featured a talk by Langley’s No 8 Gin. I also attended Yelp’s Cocktail Opus January event at Bar Opus which was also featured Langley’s No 8. It turns out its just the tonic water that I don’t really enjoy.

To say thank you for previous Gin events, I invited the lovely Vicky from Yelp to join me on Saturday. It was a 5.30 for 6pm start, and we were pretty much the first to arrive. The semi underground venue of Pub Du Vin has a ground floor entrance on Edmund Street. I’d been to visit Hotel Du Vin before, when I was shown around by Tony, the General Manager. You can read about my visit here: brumhour.wordpress.com/2015/05/11/5-places-to-fall-asleep-in-birmingham

The first drink was actually a shot sample of Langley’s No 8 Gin, allowing us to pause and smell the aroma of the gin then sip the shot. This was followed by a Cucumber Leaf Martini, which was a light refreshing drink.

20150613_182239
Cucumber Leaf Martini

#GinOClock was at 7pm, and this was celebrated around the world including London, Toronto and Cancún who all joined on on twitter. We had a G&T which I sipped and then shared with Vicky. Not a fan of tonic water.

#GinOClock G&T
#GinOClock G&T

During the evening we were treated to some close up card magic by Gavin Parsons who is @GavinCardShark on twitter.

Gavin Parsons Card Shark
Gavin Parsons Card Shark

The next cocktail was a Hotel Du Vin Langley Raspberry Spritz which was my favourite, it was a fruity summer drink which left me feeling I’d drunk it rather too swiftly.

20150613_193605
Hotel Du Vin Langley Raspberry Spritz

The drinks were rounded off with a Basil and Grapefruit long cocktail.

Basil and Grapefruit
Basil and Grapefruit

Huge thanks to Ahmed Kage for inviting me to the event and a huge thanks to Tony at Hotel Du Vin for providing a great relaxed venue in the heart of Birmingham.

I’ve not been paid to write this review, but I wanted say thanks for the two tickets I was given and to share what a great time I had.

Follow CocktailXChange on twitter at @CocktailXChange

