Birmingham’s Independent Venues: Brunch at Gas Street Social

Blog post by Dave Massey @brumhour

Rehydration Station.
Rehydration Station.

I’d already got a ticket to Birmingham’s Hidden Spaces day at Severn Street Masonic Hall in central Birmingham, for 11.30am last Saturday, when I was invited to try the new Brunch Menu at Gas Street Social. It was the launch weekend of the Brunch Menu. From 9am-1pm on Saturdays and Sundays, you can choose an array of dishes from this new menu.

I knew that I would have to be done with brunch by 11am to arrive on time at Hidden Spaces. So I booked for 9.45am and due to poor weather in Birmingham I was the first to arrive.

Inside Gas Street Social
Inside Gas Street Social

Gas Street Social has been in the rear area of Birmingham’s Mailbox facing the Gas Street Basin canal for some months now, but this was my first visit.

Half asleep and slightly drowned from the rain I arrived to a warm welcome from the staff. As I waited for my friend to arrive I examined the menu. I’ve pretty much only had brunch in Washington DC or at american-style restaurants in the UK so I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect from a British version.

On the Brunch Menu.
On the Brunch Menu.

The menu has items from sausage sandwiches (my normal breakfast choice!) to Steak, Egg and Chips, or a Wagyu Beef Burger. My friend arrived also half drowned and we were given Bellini’s to sample and a large jug of water. (I drink a lot of water!)

Brunch Bellini's
Brunch Bellini’s

We both settled on having Gas Street Works which is a breakfast of two rashers of bacon, two Cumberland sausages, a free range egg, roasted plum tomato, black pudding, mushroom, sautéed potatoes with toasted Hockley Bread and a small pot of Gas Street Social beans. Our lovely server, Lily told us we could swap and remove items as we liked, which is good as I don’t like eggs particularly. My friend also ordered a breakfast tea with his food.

"Gas Street Works"
“Gas Street Works”

In next to no time our food arrived at the table and we were soon scoffing down our meals. It was as I expected which is good with extra tomato to replace my egg. I was pretty glad we had arrived early as the tables were starting to fill nicely even with the weather still being poor.

This is a venue I’d bring my friends too if they were visiting Birmingham. I liked the the vibe of the place, and it was far less brash than Bar Room Bar which had been there previously. It’s got a great view of Birmingham’s famous canals which adds to the vibe.

While I was there, I bumped into Mr Independent Birmingham, photographer Jack Spicer Adams who was making stunning photos of the food, and Helen from Positive Fridays with Edd. There was also some live music to keep us entertained during our brunch!

Try it next weekend if you get chance!

Follow Gas Street Social on Twitter at @GasStSocial and facebook at facebook.com/Gasstsocial

(I was invited to try Brunch by the lovely Vicky from Gas Street Social, I’ve not been paid to write this article, but I was given free Gas Street Social Brunch for both myself and my friend.)

One thought on “Birmingham’s Independent Venues: Brunch at Gas Street Social

Comments are closed.