Marco’s New York Italian lands at Birmingham Airport’s Holiday Inn

Venue visit By Dave Massey @brumhour

When I worked at Touchwood in Solihull, I’d go home via Birmingham Airport, and we would sail past a beautiful building that was home to Holiday Inn! In previous decades, the white Miami retro-style might have looked out of place. This is 2015, where retro chic buildings have a huge place in our hearts.

Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

I’d seen Marco’s New York Italian were opening at the Holiday Inn at Birmingham Airport, and wanted get myself down for a nose around. I’ve never really had a reason to stop at Birmingham Airport for a night, so this was the perfect excuse to visit. When I fly from Manchester or London, I normally sleep at a hotels at the respective airports, but it’s never crossed my mind to have a relaxing room the night before a flight here in Brum.

American Airlines launched flights to New York City’s JFK Airport from BHX Birmingham Airport this month, it seems that a taste of New York’s Italian food is the order of the day!

Big Yellow Taxi
Big Yellow Taxi

I arrived to discover a New York style Big Yellow Taxi parked on a red carpet, and felt relieved I’d got the correct night! The staff were very happy to have their brand new 120-cover Marco’s New York Italian ready to show off! I spotted Marco Pierre White’s signature Mr McQueen chair in place at the entrance to the restaurant.

Marco's Pierre White's Mr McQueen Signature Chair
Marco’s Pierre White’s Mr McQueen Signature Chair

Inside is a mixture of seating styles, American booths near the large windows, some high tables and 4-place tables, making it easy for you to dine alone, or with friends or family.

Splashes of red in Marco's New York Italian
Splashes of red in Marco’s New York Italian
Inside Marco's American Italian
Inside Marco’s New York Italian

The hotel said “Serving up the chef’s take on American-Italian food including fresh pastas, steaks, seafood, burgers and handmade pizzas, the restaurant will make the most of fresh local produce.

“The family-friendly diner offers a relaxed, affordable setting for business dinners, special occasions, casual gatherings or a hearty meal at the end of the day for weary hotel guests.

“Heading up the new restaurant is Executive Head Chef, Mark Hearnden, who hopes to create a dining destination offering one of the best food experiences in the area.

“Ideal for guests staying at the hotel, the new restaurant is also expected to attract residents living in and around the Solihull area, as well as visitors to the Genting Arena and NEC.”

I think it’s great to get the train to the Birmingham International, and then get the Holiday Inn Shuttle to the hotel. It’s also ideal if you want to stay at the hotel and keep a car in the Holiday Inn car park while you are away!

Annabel Jones as Marilyn added some retro glam to the launch event.
Annabel Jones as Marilyn added some retro glam to the launch event.

This was a launch reception that I was invited to rather than dinner, so I’ll be back to eat in the future hopefully before I jet off somewhere!

Follow MPWBhamairport on twitter and the Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport at HIBhamAirHotel.

Follow designers Mr Mcqueen on twitter at Mr Mcqueen.

Thanks to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport for the invite to the launch, I’ve not been paid to write this but I did enjoy lots of mini finger food! Great hosts, especially Sales Manager, Laura Moore who showed me around several meeting rooms for future event ideas!


I also met Angela Jones aka AJClassicCakes who was charming as anything and got me to try some mini cakes, including Limoncello mini loaves and mini apple cakesI I say “got me to try” I practically stole them off the plate!

twitter.com/AJClassicCakes
Mini Cakes by twitter.com/AJClassicCakes
