1847: The Love Kickstarts again!

By Dave Massey @brumhour

If I haven’t said before I’ll say it now: I’M A REALLY FUSSY EATER! I don’t like Sunday lunches, I’m picky over Christmas dinner, and I really dislike seafood!! So when It comes to writing food reviews I will probably blog about something I’ve really really enjoyed, and want to support. If I’m lucky something that supports #BrumHour in return.

The doors that @brumhour has opened for me, and for other people who network via the #BrumHour hashtag on twitter, are immeasurable from rubbing shoulders with business people, and media sorts, to the art, design and food creatives in our great city of Birmingham.

1847
1847

This week, I found myself invited to 1847 in Great Western Arcade, which is 30 seconds walk from Snow Hill Station in the Colmore District of Birmingham. Owner Damien Davenport opened the first branch in Manchester in 2011 and the Birmingham branch which opened in 2013 brought their vision to the Midlands.

My first visit, was a two-course dinner with Yelp Birmingham in February 2015, where I really enjoyed their battered halloumi followed by sticky toffee pudding and smoked ice cream. I knew going back this week would provide me with fantastic food presented in their unique style.

We were treated to a SEVEN Course special menu:

Pickled Mushroom, chargrilled cucumber
Pickled Mushroom, chargrilled cucumber
Top: Beetroot Soup, coconut creme with dark chocolate Bottom: Pea Puree, basil jam, grapefruit in a pastry case with sea salt
Top: Beetroot Soup, coconut creme with dark chocolate
Bottom: Pea Puree, basil jam, grapefruit in a pastry case with sea salt.

Getting tastes of uniquely sourced flavours is great, 1847’s ethos of local and seasonal food combined with its “brewed, grown and foraged” values really set it apart from other venues.

Starter: 63 Degree Poached Egg, chargrilled asparagus and salted baby turnip
Starter: 63 Degree Poached Egg, chargrilled asparagus and salted baby turnip.
Main: Ratatouille, red pepper jus, burnt aubergine puree, polenta hash brown, chard red onion, confit tomato.
Main: Ratatouille, red pepper jus, burnt aubergine puree, polenta hash brown, chard red onion, confit tomato.

This next 12 months sees 1847 take their vision further, expanding to Liverpool and opening their third branch, they are using crowdsourcing with Kickstarter for this with some really great deals on offer in return for investments! £15 for a an 1847 mug, £30 to become an 1847 member which brings twelve months of its own perks OR £50 for a dinner for two in Birmingham, Manchester, or when the new Liverpool branch opens! Which when you consider you are supporting a new branch is great!

Pre Dessert: poppy seed, banana custard, peach rhubarb, micro coriander.
Pre Dessert: poppy seed, banana custard, peach rhubarb, micro coriander.
Dessert: Apricot and thyme jam, tofu almond creme, sugar, cubed coated strawberries.
Dessert: Apricot and thyme jam, tofu almond creme, sugar, cubed coated strawberries.

The food on the night was amazing, and it was really great to have the chefs come over and tell us more about the dishes they had created, I’ll be back to try something for lunch from their takeaway pantry table in Great Western Arcade and to discover even more about their cookery school!

Take a look at the 1847 Kickstarter campaign here kickstarter.com/projects/1699484970/lets-bring-1847-to-liverpool and check out those great deals.

Watch the Youtube video here:

Follow 1847 on Twitter here: @by1847 on Facebook for the Birmingham branch at facebook.com/pages/Bistro-1847-Birmingham/208341145981255?

*I have not been paid to write this blog but I was treated to a lovely dinner at 1847 for me and my friend Julie.

Leave a Reply

