May 23rd: Tour the TV and Film Locations of Birmingham

by Dave Massey @brumhour

Last September, I was invited* by Mark Wilson, in association with Film Birmingham to join a tour of TV and Film Locations in central Birmingham. It was the day of the Birmingham Independent Food Fair, and I had two and a half hours to join the tour before heading to the Food Fair down at Millennium Point.

Looking at film locations in the Colmore Business District, Birmingham
Looking at film locations in the Colmore Business District, Birmingham

We met at Snow Hill railway station, and our group was presented with some great photos of the buildings around us transformed into fictionalised buildings. Who knew that the entrance next to Little Waitrose had doubled as a Police Station?

Our walk then took us through Pigeon Park, and down into the Colmore Business District to discover locations for Hustle, and midlands ATV icon and current Big Centre TV gem Crossroads! Yes Crossroads! Even I’m shocked I made it three paragraphs without saying Crossroads! Seeing photos from the 1970s of Birmingham Cathedral being used as a TV wedding filming location was great while we were stood right there!

The Birmingham Midland Institute used for doubles for several tv buildings.
The Birmingham Midland Institute used for doubles for several tv buildings.

Along our route through the business district, we saw the locations used in BBC America’s The Game. Roz Laws from the Birmingham Mail wrote about The Game’s locations here. Episode one of the Game is on BBC Two April 30th at 9pm

Spotting the Brum Buzz in Victoria Square
Spotting the Big Brum Buzz in Victoria Square

Victoria Square was our next big location, after a short walk down the back of Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery, we walked across to Alpha Tower and headed into the Birmingham Municipal Bank.

inside Birmingham Municipal Bank
inside Birmingham Municipal Bank

Birmingham Municipal Bank was my favourite location on the tour, and it was sad that I had to cut short my tour experience but we got to see the main banking hall and the vault!!

Inside the vault at Birmingham Municipal Bank
Inside the vault at Birmingham Municipal Bank
Inside the vault at Birmingham Municipal Bank
Inside the vault at Birmingham Municipal Bank

This was great as it was like something out of a film set anyway!!

The next tour takes place on Saturday May 23rd at 11am Book your ticket here: eventbrite.co.uk/e/birmingham-tv-film-location-walking-tours-2015-tickets-16758216276 and look out for more over the summer of 2015

Follow Mark Wilson on twitter at twitter.com/Sparks68

Check out his blog at btvfloc.wordpress.com

*I’ve not been paid for this article and I was invited on the tour in exchange for giving my honest view. My only negative was that I wish I’d allocated more time! I held back writing my review until now as I was invited on the final tour of 2014. Thanks Mark for the invite.

