Indian Burritos in Birmingham!

by David Massey @brumhour

Last month I was walking through Bullring, from what will become Grand Central Birmingham in September 2015, and I noticed that Wrapchic – The Indian Burrito Company, had opened a branch on the Upper West Mall right next to the Amazon Locker space. This has previously been home to a hairdressers and a florist, neither of which I was ever going to visit… Burrito’s however are a different story! I was given a yummy sample and left my #BrumHour business card!

Upper West Mall at Bullring
Upper West Mall at Bullring

I’d expected just to be sent some tweets about their food. So imagine my surprise when I was invited to come down and try a burrito! I don’t blog about things that I’m not passionate about, and I hope you can tell from reading my previous blogs that I’m lucky to be able to write about “anything” to do with Birmingham. Anything doesn’t mean everything. It means brands, businesses, charities, and people that I’m confident will benefit from a blog piece.

WrapChic at Bullring
WrapChic at Bullring

So here I am on a weekday afternoon arriving at Bullring and being shown around an open plan unit space with a Subway style layout. Everything is done right before your eyes! Sumit, the manager, is very proud to be running this branch, and he’s proud of the ethos of the business.

http://wrapchic.co.uk/menu/
http://wrapchic.co.uk/menu/

You choose either a wrap, a burrito, a taco, or a bowl, and then your filling. I went for a burrito of course, and wanted Chicken Tikka (I’m a proper Brummie after all, no really!) but there are lots of authentic sounding Indian food to choose from including some veggie options!

http://wrapchic.co.uk/menu/
http://wrapchic.co.uk/menu/

I asked for some sour cream and mango chutney, together with some chopped salad, and while I tucked in I heard about how Wrapchic has evolved from its first store in North Western Arcade (which is closed while the street improvements are completed to Bull Street and Corporation Street) to branches in London, Southampton, Leicester, Derby and Coventry.

My Burrito
My Burrito

My Burrito was very tasty indeed. I’ve eaten at Chipotle in Washington DC several times on trips, so I knew what to expect from a traditional Mexican-style burrito and my Chicken Tikka tasted great with the mango chutney and sour cream!

Next time you are hungry at Bullring I suggest you pop over to Wrapchic and grab yourself some lunch!

Find out more about Wrapchic here: wrapchic.co.uk or on twitter at @wrapchic

*I was given a free burrito and water and said I would write a blog piece about my experience. I really enjoyed my visit and have not been paid to say great things about the business.

Comments are closed.